Spam

The Boston Marathon bombings, RedKit and a malware zoo

Just some hours after the bombings during the Boston Marathon we already had several spam campaigns using that subject to infect users. It seems that cybercriminals don't respect anything, did we really expect something different? :p

On the past Wednesday I received four emails talking about the Boston incident. They were really suspicious, just a URL in the body, the URLs had just an IP instead of a good domain...I think someone was in a rush trying to profit from this as soon as possible, while it was still on the news...
 

 
The subjects were:
 

BREAKING - Boston Marathon Explosion 
Explosion at the Boston Marathon
Aftermath to explosion at Boston Marathon
Explosions at the Boston Marathon

 
And the URLs I saw:
 

hxxp://94.28.49 .130/boston.html 
hxxp://78.90.133 .133/boston.html
hxxp://118.141.37 .122/news.html
hxxp://110.92.80 .47/news.html

 
These URLs leaded to a simple webpage with six iframes. Five of them pointed to real videos about the tragedy and the other one redirected to a RedKit exploit kit which was trying to exploit a CVE-2012-1723 Java vulnerability (take a look at the vulnerability explanation). Also, a Meta Refresh Tag was leading to this URL:
 

Yet another Oficla email campaign (CV)

This time I've received a nicer e-mail, a woman sending me her CV!! with a picture of her included too!! :) In fact, she has included in the image some words too, a bit strange...

Again the same actors: Oficla and ZeuS. This time not Feodo downloading. Inside the zip file we can find the Oficla sample, with a medium detection rate. It connects with the domain showtimeru.ru (now it's down) to ask for URLs to download more malware:

http://showtimeru.ru/show/bb.php?v=200&id=428308300&b=0711_e&tm=6832
[info]runurl:http://1xx.1xx.1xx.46/test/esmilk.exe|taskid:8|delay:15|upd:0|backurls:[/info]

The server response contained the same URL (active yet) as the DHL campaign, downloading the same version of ZeuS, different MD5.

Beware with women!! they are not trustful!! ;)

DHL e-mail campaign downloading ZeuS and Feodo

This past month a new DHL campaign has been spreading malware in a zip file. The executable in the zip was identified (with a high detection rate) as Oficla by the Antivirus engines. This malicious code, with filename DHL_Etiqueta.exe, acts as a downloader asking a server the URLs it must use to download the other malicious files. It always uses in the requests the User-Agent Opera\9.64. These are the requests and responses in this case:

http://xxxxxx.ru/mydog/bb.php?v=200&id=428308299&b=2510_dhl&tm=1397
[info]runurl:http://1xx.1xx.1xx.xx/test/morph.exe|taskid:16|delay:15|upd:0|backurls:[/info]

http://xxxxxx.ru/mydog/bb.php?v=200&id=428308299&tid=16&b=2510_dhl&r=1&tm=1397
[info]kill:0|runurl:http://1xx.1xx.1xx.xx/test/esmilk.exe|taskid:17|delay:15|upd:0|backurls:[/info]


Both of the downloaded files, morph.exe and esmilk.exe, are banking trojans. The former is a sample of Feodo, with a low detection rate (7/41), which downloads the configuration file from a server after sending to it a POST request:

Syndicate content